Skip to content

Winston Churchill Thinks I’m Stupid

November 6, 2012

Apparently so do a lot of other people I know. I see this a lot:

Show me a young Conservative and I’ll show you someone with no heart. Show me an old Liberal and I’ll show you someone with no brains. ~Winston Churchill

But guess what? I’m not. Not stupid at all. What I am is a Momma.

A Momma with a sixteen year old baby girl.

And that girl will turn seventeen, eighteen, nineteen, and twenty years old while the President of the United States we elect today sits at the helm of this country. While he appoints two, maybe three, Supremes.

During the next four years, she will spread her brand new wings and leave this nest. Off to school. Her first apartment. An independent life.

I celebrate the wealth of opportunities she has before her. Education. Travel. Passion.

If you know us, you know we don’t draw many hard lines for our children. We have never tried to mold them into our shape, bend their spirit to fit some track that pleases us. It has always been our mission to offer them opportunities and opinions and to then sit back and let them choose, let them experience the value and concerns of choice. And while the consequences of such parenting could render poor outcomes, in this home it has not. We have five confident, fiercely independent thinkers who serve as valuable citizenry of their own micro-communities and of this family.

And while I could wax on ad nauseum, there’s no need. You know what I’m talking about. That thing they have. That thing that makes them awesome.

Freedom.

But, you see, there’s this funny thing about Freedom; it only exists when you trust those whom it’s bestowed upon.

I trust my girl to make good choices. About her education. About her relationships with boys and us and God. About her affiliations and finances and future. Her body and mind and spirit. I know there will be pitfalls along the way, but I trust her. I trust her.

The Republican Party does not. Half of this country does not.

And so I’ll use my vote to show her that I actually believe in her Freedom. As a Woman. As an American.

If that makes me a one trick pony, so be it. If it makes me brainless, oh well. Anyone who knows me knows that I understand our history; that I care a great deal about the direction this country takes, about our ability to function domestically and abroad as a great nation. I believe in that City on the Hill, but I also believe that when we cry Freedom we don’t do it standing on the backs of our daughters.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2012 1:21 pm

    ::VELOCIRAPTOR SCREECH!!!::

  2. November 6, 2012 1:23 pm

    winnie said some and did some good things, but that quote isn’t one of them. he may have been far in his cups that day. i’m with you on this one, annie. for your daughter and for mine. and for hers.

  3. Janet Reid permalink
    November 6, 2012 3:25 pm

    I love this line: “there’s this funny thing about Freedom; it only exists when you trust those whom it’s bestowed upon.”

  4. Bill S. permalink
    November 6, 2012 4:45 pm

    Thanks very much for those fiercely independent thinkers. Lord knows we need them. I’ve tried to do the same thing with my kids, teach them to investigate and explore and question everything.

    Great piece, Annie.

  5. November 6, 2012 5:05 pm

    No, we cannot go back.

  6. November 6, 2012 5:20 pm

    Frances would be proud of you.

  7. November 7, 2012 8:25 am

    BAM! You said it, lovely Annie.

Leave a Reply

