Skip to content

Oh, yes, Scott. Me, too.

October 9, 2012

20121009-235346.jpg

In the practically wifi-less world of vacation, left with only the books presently in my iBooks library, I went with a classic.

Lately, I am very much into highlighting, scrawling on paper pages, hanging digital bookmarks, bending corners. Savoring. The best way I can explain it is to compare it to my dinner the other night. There were these divine Pumpernickel rolls and I didn’t eat the last bite until after I finished dessert. I wasn’t even aware; it was pointed out to me. That’s where I am with words. I want that final rush of the thing, the delicious thing that melts your shoulders when it crosses your tongue and leaves you in a puddle in the chair. Sort of a depression-era mindset. Conserve. Reserve. Sustain. Save. Exist. Survive. Acquiesce just to choke on a cloud of reality and catch your desire again.

This passage isn’t the most elegant or the most famous, but isn’t it scrumptious? And so, just a bit ago, after my plate was licked clean, I came back for those last bites I’d put to the side.

Very satisfying.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2012 11:26 pm

    I’ve always saved best bites to last and loved excess. No wonder I like reading what you write, Annie.

  2. wanderingblonde permalink
    October 10, 2012 12:24 am

    Oh me too, that was a nice little dessert of its own.

  3. October 10, 2012 5:57 pm

    And … I REALLY would love to throw that party. Oh, wait. Maybe I already have? Were y’all there?

Leave a Reply

