Skip to content

The shirts. Oh, the shirts kill me every time.

May 23, 2012

 

“So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2012 9:52 am

    starched.

  2. May 23, 2012 9:56 am

    So, Candy girl. What say ye? What do you think of this gritty, sweaty Leo Gatsby? This sweet faced Nick that has replaced the sardonic Sam Waterston? I’m jazzed. (Pardon the pun.)

  3. May 23, 2012 12:30 pm

    i’m intrigued by the trailer and quivering to see the movie. carey mulligan is enough of a draw by her amazing actress self. i like leo in most but not all movies, especially when he doesn’t yell too much. can he be gatsby? i wanna know.

  4. May 24, 2012 8:49 am

    I don’t particularly care for Leo, but i did double-love him in The Departed, so that makes up for my hatred toward Titanic and Insipid or Intrepidation or whatever that other time-stop-dream-thing movie was. Inception. Yes, it was Inception. I think that may be a key for me here, taking that dark, underground/undercover Billy Costigan from TD and applying him the Gatsby’s dark past. Plus, he has the perfect furrowed brow and can seemingly sweat on command. But, Carey Mulligan … oh Lord. “Gatsby. What Gatsby?” Her voice is as thin as mulberry paper. A perfectly good Daisy. I don’t know who that is playing Jordan Baker, but i love her voice, too. I cannot wait.

  5. May 24, 2012 9:04 am

    So I am reading other reviews of this trailer and there is much up and down with much more down. Of course, the things they are focused on are not very interesting to me. Yes, the novel Gatsby is a bit blase and conservative with emotion, and yes (HuffPo), dissecting the lyrics of soundtrack songs doesn’t always reveal a true poet’s heart. And so, just like the Oscar-worthy movies that I rarely care for at all, I find myself at odds with the critics. And this is just fine. I like the trailer music. I think it is desperate. I think every character in The Great Gatsby is equally or more desperate. I like the Moulin-Rougy flappering. I like the liveliness and sparkle of it. I like the emotion of it. It’s a version of a classic, not a classic, much like the new Mustang will never be a ’68. There is also the teensy weensy thing about this being A COMMERCIAL. So, I do not really get the hubbub. I say, *Bring It* and if I don’t like it, I’ll say so, but not until I’ve rolled around with it for a while. Anything else just seems premature.

  6. May 24, 2012 9:34 am

    I wish they’d stop remaking stuff. Why can’t they just re-release the originals?

    Leo just does not do it for me. EVAH.

    • May 24, 2012 9:36 am

      That’s because you are old. They do re-release the originals on TCM or TNT or USA or WTF all the time.

      I wonder what the wash was when the Redford Gatsby came out? Was it welcomed with cheers and beers? Google that and get back to me.

  7. May 24, 2012 9:47 am

    Oh … and I really am curious about this …

    Do theaters where y’all are show Pay-Per-View things like UFC? Are our mega-tavern-3D(?)-IMAX-stadiums having trouble making rent or is this just an economical way to get those out to the public?

  8. May 24, 2012 10:06 am

    I’d watch Baz Luhrmann direct a dramatic interpretation of The Price Is Right. He pulled the Jack White lever and I’m already camped out at the theater. It’s beautiful.

    • May 24, 2012 10:12 am

      I concur. And for this pure-hearted show of enthusiasm, I will sample your sausage.

      • May 24, 2012 10:14 am

        Damn right you will, FLAPPAH!

      • May 24, 2012 10:23 am

        Well, you know I have a warm place for dramatic interpretation. And, indeed, I would love nothing more than a closet filled to excess with sequined dresses and feathered headbands. I was so totally born in the wrong era. And while the age of Hair Bands does come close in sequin count, I prefer those short jaunty bobs.

  9. Stacey Gelband permalink
    May 25, 2012 12:26 am

    I only know that this has to be better than the Jane Eyre interpretation you made me suffer through. Leo in Inception was mesmerizing!

    • June 1, 2012 5:17 am

      “Mesmerizing” in the sense that LSD is “mesmerizing”. But I gotta admit, that JE was the pits.

  10. May 31, 2012 5:01 am

    Leo leaves me cold as well and I agree with Jodi about Baz. I think we should all meet in St. Louis or some other equally central location and watch the 3-D IMAX version of this a few times together.

Leave a Reply

