Skip to content

Today is my sister’s birthday.

May 21, 2012

But, Annie, you say, you don’t have a sister.

And I cannot deny that it’s the truth. I was born sisterless. I have a brother whom I adore, but never had a sister.

Until a brief time ago.

When along came Parrish, the Dead Head gypsy girl sister child of my dreams, with her soft face and deep eyes. I’ve learned her well, tasted what it’s like to love her in the way only a sister can, and so, today I mourn her loss.  And though her body is not of this plane anymore, her spirit dances among us in glorious long skirts and loosely chained daisies reminding us of what it is like to love and be loved, to live freely and die too young.

So, Happy 43rd  Birthday, Parrish, and thank you Mandee for the gift of knowing her.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill S. permalink
    May 23, 2012 12:49 pm

    I don’t know why WP won’t let me like this, but I do. I do, I do, I do, I do, I DO like this.

  2. Bill S. permalink
    May 23, 2012 12:50 pm

    NOW it lets me like this.

  3. May 24, 2012 9:22 am

    WordPress is persnickety sometimes. Thank you much for liking it and for being damn persistent. Next time we run a “mission”, I’ll put the gas in the van.

Leave a Reply

