Skip to content

Rewind.

May 7, 2012

I’m in the car and there’s a song on the radio.

It’s okay and I listen halfheartedly,

raise an eyebrow towards some offbeat harmony,

but then this thing happens. The pattern breaks

and instead of the sleepy cycle of low notes falling off

into the pit of my stomach, one rests a bit,

right at eye level,

maybe too long, and then repeats.

Da. Da. Da.

It is so spectacular

that an abundance of endorphins

and brain dope floods my head and wraps around my neck,

sinking hot, drawing every speck of energy inside my rib cage.

My abdomen goes flat. My heart contracts. Everything about me becomes smaller

in the presence of those too-long notes.

Da. Da. Da.

From nose to knees I’m as tight as a hemp rope.

And then it’s over.

And I can’t rewind.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 11:40 am

    You are a poet of the highest caliber. I am in awe.

  2. May 7, 2012 1:09 pm

    Aww, thanks! I haven’t played with a poem in a while, and originally this wasn’t, but bubble bubble toil and trouble and voila, now it is …

    The magic of **return**. Ha!

  3. imagineannie permalink
    May 8, 2012 7:46 am

    Usually no one can describe the experience of listening to music. You, however, can.

  4. Ann Hunt permalink
    May 8, 2012 2:29 pm

    As usual, love it!!!! When does your book come out?

Leave a Reply

