Skip to content

Yesterday’s Calzone

December 13, 2011

This morning I ran out of lip balm.  Cameron took the honey one. Drew took the peppermint one. Bradley took the mango one. It was time to refill, but no time to run to Costco. Typically, I get it there—regular Chapstick—a dozen or so little tubes, a mix of the black one and the cherry and the blue one, for around six bucks. They just lose it anyway. Or eat it. Or whatnot.

So, I take a bath, listen to sad music, procrastinate on other important things and finally get dressed and drive to the local pharmacy to replace what was distributed (and that will also surely need to be replaced by this afternoon). I don’t go begrudgingly. I don’t actually even go to get lip balm. I go so that on the way back I can stop at the Corropolese Bakery and get yesterday’s calzone.

Yesterday’s calzone is better than today’s. It just is. And despite the brusque service and slightly offensive odor of cured meats, I make my way to the back of the tiny shop to find exactly one calzone in the refrigerator. Wrapped in saran, a little grease congealed in the underneath folds, I swipe it and pay my four bucks and speed home.

It must be treated with care, this savory little pastry,  as the outside is, for me, the pinnacle of the experience. The pinched crust, slightly crisp, but never hard, can’t endure much more browning past the first baking, so warming must be done in foil. After the cheese is ooey, I unwrap it and let the firm up a little under the crisper. The cheese glides out and sizzles ‘til it is hard fused to the silver aluminum. My mouth waters.

I like to eat yesterday’s calzone on a nice plate with a knife and a fork. I like the sound the metal against the crust, the idea that the bread, simple flour and yeast and water, is almost a deterrent to the perfectly machined stainless steel. Alas, the knife wins the battle, but the war … in this war, I am always the victor.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 12:04 pm

    not much i like more than hard-fused cheese, that combination of hot and chewy. but i’d almost rather read something you’ve written than eat something that yummy. and today i’d omit the “almost.”

    • December 13, 2011 12:18 pm

      awwwwwwwwwwwww 🙂 xoxoxo

      trust me, nothing i said even compared to my lunch!!!!

  2. December 13, 2011 12:05 pm

    bread, cheese and ann’s writing. nope, nothing else is necessary today.

    • December 13, 2011 12:18 pm

      maybe dessert? i’m thinking caramel milky way? it comes in a double pack …we could share!

      • December 13, 2011 6:14 pm

        you know what’s weird? that second comment was supposed to be a FB share. i wondered, when i got home late today, why evil d had shared it and i hadn’t. came to investigate … i bet you wondered why i was vomiting comments all over your blog, huh, annie?

      • December 13, 2011 6:23 pm

        I just thought you loved me doubly much today. hahahaha!! xoxo

  3. December 13, 2011 5:15 pm

    There is nothing offensive about the odour of cured meat. Jodi wears it as cologne. Don’t be rude.

    • December 13, 2011 6:17 pm

      Rude? Moi? Bacon No. 5? I knew I missed her today …

  4. Stacey Gelband permalink
    December 13, 2011 5:17 pm

    #1: Why have I never been told about these…invited…offered…sheesh
    #2: You are such a food whore! You will share with anyone. Why would you share your Milky Way Caramel with anyone but me???
    #3: This piece of writting was short, sweet, and to the point. Thank you for not tourturing me through a slow, painful death of the calzone. Sometimes your descriptive writting fails to come across ~ haha. Glad others are appreciative of you taking to the keyboard today. Lol.

    • December 13, 2011 6:19 pm

      1. You’ve been on that whack diet for like a freaking year.
      2. I never claimed to be faithful. I will give my candy to the first person to show up and pat my head.
      3. I’m glad this gets your stamp of approval. However, if you prefer long, drawn out tragedies, have I got a story for you …. more of a story …. muahahahahaha…..
      I’ll work on my creativity and descriptive writing. Maybe they make a **For Dummies** workbook.

  5. Jodi permalink
    December 13, 2011 5:27 pm

    Eau de charcuterie…. nom!

    • December 13, 2011 6:19 pm

      Eau the wheels on the bus go round and round!

  6. Owl Says Who permalink
    December 13, 2011 5:27 pm

    Chica…my mouth is watering…there ain’t no good calzones out here in the sticks! Hell, we can hardly get decent chapstick! Don’t mind my jealousing…between your writing, and what you’re writing about, it’s a compliment… 🙂

    • December 13, 2011 6:20 pm

      OWLER! Lawd, don’t I know about living in the sticks. Hard to get what a girl needs. I’ve missed you! xoxo

  7. Bahar permalink
    December 14, 2011 7:28 am

    Mmmmm, only you can make congealed fat sound delicious. I had soggy tacos from gringos that gave me heartburn….nothing delicious or beautiful about that…

    • December 14, 2011 11:09 pm

      Oh no! Har! Step away from the Gringos. When you come here, I will get you all the calzone you can eat (aside from the ones that I eat, of course). We will temper all that cheese and fat with sushi from my beloved Wegman’s Sushi Man. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

