Skip to content

/din/ or /dine/? What say y’all?

October 19, 2011

The debate went like this:

“It’s dine.”

“No. It’s din.”

“No, it’s not and I should know. It’s dine.”

“Well, down here (in Florida) it’s din.

“Well, in Virginia, it’s dine.”

“Well, y’all are wrong.”

“No. You’re wrong.”

I am planted firmly in the /dine/ camp.

Muscadine. DINE.

mus-ca-dine. DINE.

In a strange deluge of  grape-talk, muscadine wine has become an avid topic of discussion with a splattering of my friends. Mandy facebooked that she’d had some a few weeks ago. Stacey googled it after hearing in a Jason Aldean song. Jodi and I argued about the pronunciation, because that’s what we do.

In case you don’t know what the musca(din)(dine) is, let me explain.

Per the great and powerful Wiki:

Muscadines (Muscadinia rotundifolia) are a grapevine species native to the present-day southeastern United States that has been extensively cultivated since the 16th Century. It differs from Vitis spp. in its number of chromosomes (2n=40 chromosomes) and its morphology. Its natural range is recognized in the following states of the US: Alabama, Arkansas, the Carolinas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.[1] They are well adapted to their native warm and humid climate; they need fewer chilling hours than better known varieties and they thrive on summer heat.

What you really need to know is that they are used for making homemade wine and jelly. Wine and jelly. It’s like peanut butter and jelly, but with wine. And no peanut butter.

And this:

As one of nature’s richest sources of polyphenolic antioxidants,[2] muscadines have been studied for their potential health benefits which include preliminary evidence for effects against cancer mechanisms. To date, in vitro studies have shown positive effects of muscadine phenolics against blood, colon and prostate cancers.

Good news is good news. Amirite?

Frances made some muscadine wine from time to time (say that five times fast) and I remember breaking a jar or two open in my youth, but that’s not what makes it important. It’s iconic. It’s southern-grown, made in the basement by church-going grandmothers, the recipe handed down for posterity. One need not have even tasted its sweetness, but only been born southern to claim its proud legacy. And in my opinion, a mason jar beats a cardboard box any day of the week. I’m snobby like that.

And so, as a child of the south, I can report that it’s /dine/.  Muscadine.

(Even though that idiot robot at dictionary.com disagrees and pronounces it /din/.)

MuscaDINE.

What say  y’all?

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Lainey permalink
    October 19, 2011 9:26 am

    I’m on Annie’s side. Not because I ever in my life heard of Muscadine wine, but because Annie is my friend and she’s always right.

  2. October 19, 2011 9:34 am

    That’s TWO for /dine/.

    Never heard of muscadine wine? We are a country divided.

  3. Candace Mann permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:07 am

    huh. dialects aside, i would have said mus/ka/deen, like saltine. i looked it up, though, and that’s not even a third choice. i hope it tastes better than it sounds since the first thing i thought of was ‘muskrat’ and then that awful song.

  4. October 19, 2011 10:18 am

    Interesting! I hadn’t thought of that. And I think I’d just as soon drink muskrat wine as listen to that song.

    In the spirit of the debate, I’ll settle this for you, Candace:
    A tie goes to the runner and since I’m running this blog, that’s THREE for /dine/.

  5. October 19, 2011 10:19 am

    For the record, I hate muscadines, and in the interest of clarity, tell the people I say “DEEN.” (Stupid phonetic symbols.) And Candace is with me. So suck it, Landsberger.

  6. October 19, 2011 10:21 am

    I WIN. You lose. And you did NOT say /deen/. You said /din/. Or can’t you pronounce /din/ like you can’t pronounce mus-ca-dine and so instead of actually saying /din/, you think you said /deen/, but you didn’t. You said /din/. I WIN.

  7. October 19, 2011 10:26 am

    http://www.forvo.com/word/muscadine/

    HA! Suck on that, dictionary.com. That old fella at Forvo says it right.

  8. Candace Mann permalink
    October 19, 2011 10:27 am

    maybe ‘deen’ sounds like ‘din’ in floridaspeak? i’m just guessing since i’m a kansan-missourian-californian-hawaiian-las vegan-marylander and have no regional accent at all.

  9. October 19, 2011 10:33 am

    Really? A battle of southern accents? You’re both rednecks and talk funny.

  10. October 19, 2011 10:48 am

    I say “musk-a-deen.” You’re senile. And Mandee can suck it too.

  11. October 19, 2011 10:56 am

    I have no regional accent either … and Jodi is full of shit … and, yes, mandee can indeed suck it.

  12. October 19, 2011 10:59 am

    It’s all about common ground, sister.

  13. October 19, 2011 12:01 pm

    Well, my good pal (known in my house as Miriam as in, “How do you spell accoutrement?” “Ask Miriam”) Merriam-Webster says it rhymes with asinine.

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/muscadine

    But since I’ve got no dog in this race and because I’m smarter than the average muskrat, I agree with Annie.

    Because Annie always wins anyway.

  14. October 19, 2011 12:01 pm

    This has been noted, BILL.

  15. October 19, 2011 12:06 pm

    Annie ❤ Bill

  16. Madame Beloved permalink
    October 19, 2011 3:42 pm

    I grew up with that grape and I KNOW the proper pronunciation. Unfortunately, I am a coward, so I’m not going to tell you what it is.

    Ahem.

    Love you, Annie. Love you, Jodi.

  17. Stacey Gelband permalink
    October 20, 2011 1:36 pm

    Jason Aldean sings it…it is so! /dine/

  18. October 21, 2011 9:13 am

    Hey, it’s me and I am always right. It’s what Candace said.

  19. Madame Beloved permalink
    October 21, 2011 9:40 am

    Okay, now I have to weigh in. I love you, too, Evil Delio, but it’s /dine/ as in: When I dine I drink the wine of the musk-a…DINE.

    Just wanted to set y’all straight so the wrongs don’t outnumber the rights.

    And I remind y’all that I’m a Mississippi girl. You don’t get much more Southern than that. Unless you’re from Alabama.

  20. October 21, 2011 9:48 am

    Mdm. Beloved: I am from Alabama. Well, kinda. My family is.

    • Madame Beloved permalink
      October 21, 2011 10:47 am

      And did they not teach you the proper pronunciation of this grape?? I can see remedial Deep South lessons are in order. Get your butt over here (your room is nice and clean and ready for you) and I’ll teach you to make chess pie. Bring insulin.

      xoxoxoxo

      • October 21, 2011 12:22 pm

        Mdm. Beloved: Your turn. We’ll make pralines. How do you pronounce that?

      • October 21, 2011 1:45 pm

        did somebody say pralines?

      • October 21, 2011 1:49 pm

        Come on down. Pecan season.

      • October 21, 2011 5:54 pm

        loops of death!!!! i can buy pecans at sam’s!

      • Madame Beloved permalink
        October 22, 2011 8:40 am

        It is praw-leens. And it is indeed pecan season. Irvin scooped a bag of ’em up off the ground for me yesterday.

      • Madame Beloved permalink
        October 22, 2011 8:41 am

        It is NOT pray-leens.

    • October 22, 2011 10:01 am

      I don’t want to talk about ’em. I want to eat ’em. Y’all get busy.

  21. October 21, 2011 10:04 am

    So let’s tally:
    /dine/ 2,847
    /deen/ 2
    /din/ 1 (because JODI SAID DIN NOT DEEN)

    The DINEs have it.

    • Madame Beloved permalink
      October 21, 2011 10:47 am

      I like the way you count.

      • October 21, 2011 5:53 pm

        I like the way you say muscadine. (THE RIGHT WAY)

        XOXO

  22. ann permalink
    October 23, 2011 8:42 pm

    Ann,
    Just got home from a visit to our beloved VA and feel I should weigh in on the “muscadine” poll…..it is DINE!!!!!! I love ’em!

    • November 17, 2011 1:02 pm

      The voice of Science, people. Listen up. That’s 6.928 for /DINE/. ❤ ❤ ❤

  23. Darryl permalink
    June 7, 2012 8:34 pm

    It’s definitely DINE, but we always called them Scupernongs at least the wild ones anyway. First “grapes” I ever ate.

Leave a Reply

