Skip to content

Color Me Happy

July 11, 2011

This morning I saw an idea “pinned” on Jennifer’s wall that captured my attention.  It went something like this:

Pull out the  broken crayons.

Peel them. (This is harder than it seems. Turn on a good movie; you’re going to be a while.)

Divide into pretty, pretty groups.

Chop.

Place in silicone mold.

Love the red and baby blue combination~

Bake at 320 for fifteen minutes.

Oh my goodness! Beautiful~

Art for making art!

Guess which combination is my favorite.

Beauty and function.

I approve this Summer Afternoon DIY activity!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 4:59 pm

    Which one do you use to colour in the naughty bits?

    • July 11, 2011 5:07 pm

      Please do not make me speculate about exactly what it is that you’re planning to do. Oh well, too late.

  2. vanessa seijo permalink
    July 11, 2011 5:17 pm

    OH, my goodness, but this is beautiful!!!!
    and of course, dang your photos are simply amazing.

    (now, I’ve got to see why instead of a normal pic under the “I like this” bit there is this unhappy face that says it’s my name. I still have a lot of wordpress ironing to do)

    • July 12, 2011 2:43 pm

      Thank you! And regardless of WordPress’s bizarre emoticons, I only associate you with the happy face! 🙂 heeee!

  3. vanessa seijo permalink
    July 11, 2011 5:18 pm

    oh, okay, now I’m back to the strange pinwheel

  4. July 11, 2011 9:20 pm

    Love it!!! I can’t wait to make them!!!

    • July 12, 2011 2:44 pm

      I was worried when they first came out of the oven because the underside wasn’t very pretty at all, but once they cooled … what a beautiful surprise!
      Thanks for the idea!

  5. shaggylocks permalink
    July 12, 2011 2:28 pm

    Awesome. I own zero crayons at the moment, but I’m filing this one away for the future…

    • July 12, 2011 2:47 pm

      For shame! Zero crayons? No coloring at Harvard? Oh well, just start ordering from the kids menu at Chili’s and you’ll have a lot in no time. Of course, they will all be red, blue, and green, so that’s kind of a bummer, but really, all you need are red & blue. After they set up, you can carve a little “33” in each one. Perfect.

  6. Patty Amidon permalink
    July 13, 2011 3:34 am

    Your photos are beautiful, Anne! We are so enjoying Jen and family here in NH as you can well imagine.

  7. July 15, 2011 9:26 am

    DAMN IT TO HELL. I TRASHED ALL THE BROKEN ONES!!!

Leave a Reply

