Skip to content

Challenge Accepted!

May 20, 2011

On March 20, 2011, the day of the LA Marathon, I made this facebook post:

“So Mandee is cycling a hundred miles around Lake Tahoe and Haley is running the LA Marathon today … I should probably take off my pajamas and brush my teeth.”

There was a long list of hilarious comments, but two stood out:

Stacey—“We can train for the City to Shore MS Bike Ride. It starts in Philly and ends at the Jersey Shore. It is every September. One year I signed up for it, the next year I bought a bike for it, maybe I should ride in it this year…WITH YOU!!!”

And

Bahar—“i triple dog dare u ann”

YOU triple dog dare ME? HA!

I hadn’t been on a bike since my days on Ivy Knoll, when Lee Mason and I tenuously escaped the daily wrath of Frankie Maddie. Lee rode an orange and black Huffy emblazoned with the number 10, I think, and I feverishly pedaled away on a pink and white banana seat. I vaguely remember a silver, three speed Schwinn cruiser as a teenager, but nothing after that. My only venture into anything cycle related since then was watching a Lance Armstrong piece on Biography a couple of years ago.

So I decided YES! I HAVE TO DO IT! Common sense waved wildly and shook its head no, no, no, but that’s not how I roll—once you drop the triple-dog-dare, all bets that involve common sense are off.

Thanks a lot, Bahar (insert sarcasm emoticon)!

A couple of weeks later, I pulled Rob’s mountain bike out of the basement, wiped off the cobwebs and climbed on. Three miles later, I could barely move, and three days later, I longed to have my entire ass surgically removed.

I would have quit, but it was too much fun! And then I got a bit better.

Three and a half miles.

Seven miles.

Ten miles.

Fifteen.

Thirty.

GO! GO! GO!

I have my own bike now,  a Mother’s Day gift from my very supportive family. The frame is small and the wheels are large. It’s white and green and it will come as no surprise that I wear a pink helmet (Holla! Sweet Briar!) I live for the weekends, for the long rides, for the county line where the pea gravel turns to pavement. My heart sails along the Schuylkill River at a swift twelve-ish miles per hour, though I stop on every bridge just to hear the water rush beneath me.

My hands go to sleep, my lungs reach nuclear meltdown capacity too soon, my legs burn like a kerosene fire and then turn to lifeless jello. I get gnats in my eyes and ticks in my hair and thanks to the canopy, I have to wipe the pollen off my teeth with my shirt. Dear sweet Lord, I LOVE it!

So, in September, I will ride in the City to Shore. I don’t know how far I’ll make it, but I have to think I’ll do all right. The ride is a benefit for MS and though I don’t have it and I don’t know anyone who does, I am intimately acquainted with its second cousin, Rheumatoid Arthritis and therefore feel like I’m accomplishing two things at once:  Victorious Triple Dog Dare In Your Face I Did It!  and Raising money for a very good cause.

Join me!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 7:58 am

    Well I gotta tell, if anyone triple dogged dared me, I’d just flip them off ,because I am a sore loser and cannot be persuaded into anything unless there are carbs involved. But I am so very proud of you. I am so proud of Robbie buying you a new bike! A pink little helmet on your head sounds adorable! I think you should bedazzle that bike…put a little straw basket in the front….like the jersey housewife who thought she could fool us that she bikes to the local grocer to buy their handmade mozzerella but you could tell when she got on that bike and almost fell off she wasn’t fooling anyone…I digress..You and your passion for biking are inspiring. It doesn’t make me want to bike but it does make me smile thinking of you riding in your pink helmet. Just be safe and ride your ass off in that marathon!

    • May 20, 2011 1:18 pm

      mmmmmmmmmmmmm carbs. chicken parm. italian beef subs. cheesecake pops. i heart you and i promise to be super careful!

  2. May 20, 2011 8:08 am

    Copycat.

    • May 20, 2011 1:20 pm

      Bite me. I told you from the get-go that I would NOT allow you to be the only do-gooder on the scene. I warned you that I would find my own charity and whip your ass. Here I go. Hold on, sister! 😀

  3. Lisa Kern permalink
    May 20, 2011 8:13 am

    You are totally my hero. I almost said I’d join you but then I came to my senses.

  4. May 20, 2011 8:29 am

    Of course, all of this depends on the Rapture.

    Oh yeah … that probably won’t affect me. Carry on!

  5. May 20, 2011 8:41 am

    As long as you’re wearing a bedazzled bike jersey and have a gallon of tequila strapped to your back with one of those long sip-as-you-ride straws you should be just fine.

    • May 20, 2011 1:22 pm

      Oh Mel, you know me so well. Someday, God willing, you will be saying those same words to my little protege, Alice.

  6. May 20, 2011 9:27 am

    Next you’ll have kittens in your basket.

  7. May 20, 2011 9:55 am

    Hokay, but I have to have pictures in training outfits.

    • May 20, 2011 1:23 pm

      I have one of Mandee. Should we do an auction or would you like to buy them straight out?

  8. Gluten Free Canteen permalink
    May 20, 2011 9:59 am

    someone had better video this. seriously. and I hear gnats are great protein in a pinch. Cap’n Awesome sent you a donation because his company will match (I’ve no idea how that works). Keep pedaling! And if you are still around after the Rapture, L&P would like to come live with you. Phoebe enjoys tequila.

    • May 20, 2011 1:25 pm

      Thanks Lisa, Captain, and Girls!!! I don’t think there’s any chance I’m going up tomorrow, so tell Phoebe to come on down and we’ll get an extra straw.

  9. July 15, 2011 9:29 am

    2 MORE MONTHS GIRL!

Leave a Reply

