Skip to content

Did you hear? I went on a trip …

December 6, 2010

to Oklahoma?  With Jennifer.  Ring any bells?

Oklahoma?  You know Oklahoma, right?

Where the wind comes sweepin’  down the plain?  Yeah!  That one!

While there, I visited a beautiful ranch.  Breathtaking, really.  So much so, that it made me weepy many times.

This was the scene from our bedroom.  Iconic American prairie.  The Country.  Fields and cows and fences and gravel roads.  If you’ve never skinny-dipped in a murky pond or taken the tractor out while your parents were sleeping to pull your friend out of a ditch, you might not get what I’m talking about.

What?  You thought this was going to be an exposé?  And that I was going to share classified documents from the mystery-baking-bunker,  reveal everyone’s deepest secrets and show you exclusive photographs of us getting pedicures from cowboys wearing only chaps?

Seriously?  What is wrong with you?

Okay, okay.  I’ll give you a peek … the bunker, not the cowboys.

Beautiful, huh?  It was perfect –warm and welcoming and rustic.

Other-worldly, even.

… A world I adore.

Lots of people think I’m from another world.  This may or may not confirm that.

I can confirm that, yes,  you probably d0 know that man.  From behind.

I think anyone who’s ever picked up a camera would tell you that this is an awful photograph, but I love it.  And it’s my blog.  So there.

You can’t really tell, but those are cows.  Like these:

I love cows.  I grew up with a backyard full of them.  Their faces are so sweet … big ol’ almond shaped eyes.  They are so lovely.  And the way their ears stick out to the sides is adorable.   “Moo” if you love them, too.

As precious as they are, the cows don’t hold a candle to these:

And these:

Oh!  I’m in love with these:

I brought these home with me.  Don’t tell.

Moose!

You might have noticed that isn’t a moose, but maybe from about a hundred yards if he was standing under some branchy old trees and you were driving by at sixty mph.?  Right?   Nevermind.

I know, I know.  You’re waiting.  Waiting for the dish.  With streaming video and its own Twitter feed.

Oh!  But wait!  Look at this.  Look at that early morning light –the way it fills up the whole wide open earth at eight o’clock in the morning.

::sigh::

God bless the prairie and the cowboys and dirt roads and wild mustangs … the tall grass and rocky pastures.  Standing in the middle of that beauty,  I was as small as a speck of dust and quite honestly it took everything in me not to jump out of the truck and drop down on my knees and thank God for the gifts of the ranches and farms, for my childhood, for the opportunity to let it sink back into my bones.

Sometimes a thing can sneak up on you and shift your spirit, remind you where you come from … even when you don’t know you’ve forgotten.

Maybe it’s just a memory awakened.  Maybe it’s the hand of God.  Maybe I’m totally full of straw and you’re sick of me rambling because I haven’t shown any streaming video of any catfights or short-sheeting 0r cow-tipping.  BTW I don’t know anything about any of that.

But, I do know that the experience was something that money could never buy, that the land and the sky and the amazing women I met will stay with me always.

Blessed …I am just so so so blessed.

Oh yeah, that Pioneer Woman was there, too.

This article is Part 2 of the 795 Part series

Holy Crap I’m Going to PDub’s

And don’t forget:

Part 3:  Bake at 350!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 2:08 pm

    Annie… you make everything so gorgeous, even if it’s already gorgeous… you make it gorgeous-er. ‘Cause yer so gorgeous yer own self.

  2. December 6, 2010 2:22 pm

    I want that kitchen.

    Oklahoma is ok, but it’s better when you are in it.

  3. December 6, 2010 2:38 pm

    Love it!

  4. December 6, 2010 4:27 pm

    more details! more pics! more gossip!!!

  5. Laura Deurmyer permalink
    December 6, 2010 6:47 pm

    Beautiful. I see the same sights whenever I look out a car window in West TX, but I don’t see them like this.

  6. December 6, 2010 7:14 pm

    Where’s my present?

  7. December 6, 2010 7:48 pm

    The last part of this I understand so well – it’s exactly how I feel when I go to my mom’s in WY. Like I want to lay down and kiss that dirt and then stare up at the endless sky. So glad this was your real life and not just one of those imagination things.

  8. Lisa permalink
    December 6, 2010 8:54 pm

    I’ve never wanted to go to Oklahoma before seeing your photos. Now I want to go and meet that handsome creature in the last photo.

    Glad you had a nice time, Annie. XOXO

  9. December 7, 2010 10:22 am

    Ann, I loved seeing your pictures! I have yet to even download mine to my computer . . . It was such a lovely weekend, and you are such a joyous and wonderful person! Seeing the friendship between you and Jennifer was beautiful.

  10. December 9, 2010 10:34 am

    Ann! Love the photos! Loved meeting you and Jennifer. What the heck, I really enjoyed meeting all the winners. Remember Stefanie? When I saw your post about Buckeyes I thought of her immediately! She is the Buckeye Queen around these parts! 🙂

    Gotta run. But I will be back. I love your blog!

  11. Patty Amidon permalink
    December 13, 2010 2:41 am

    Wonderful photos, Ann and great commentary!

  12. December 14, 2010 1:03 pm

    Ann,
    This is great! Loved seeing your photos. And loved that’s it’s part of a 795 post series! 🙂
    I’m finding it SO hard to narrow both the pictures and experiences down a few posts!

Trackbacks

  1. Bake at 350 … for forever! « lemon tart diary

Leave a Reply

