Skip to content

just S’MAC me already!

November 11, 2010

I admit it.  I’m a bit of a boutique food cynic.  Or I am a product of my redneck palate.  Both are possibilities.

So when my new neighbor Stacey called me from NYC and said, “I’m getting macaroni and cheese.  Do you want some?” I was all like … uhhhh … it’s macaroni.  And cheese.  You gotta bring it from New York City?

Instead of that, I just screamed, “YES!”

She sent me to this website for S’MAC

I was all like, uhhhhh.  Do we really need a dozen kinds of mac& cheese?  I mean, it’s like, macaroni.  And cheese. And holy crap!  It’s $7.25 for a “nosh”!  What the heck is a “nosh”?

Instead of that, I screamed, “OMG, BRING ME THE ALPINE.  AND THE CAJUN.  AND THE BUFFALO CHICKEN.  No – scratch the Buffalo Chicken.  Just the other two.”  Moderation is a virtue.

The next day, she arrives with said S’MAC.  I opened the little boxes.  Looked like mac&cheese.  A nosh looks like about two servings.  There’s a little card on top with the cooking directions.

COOKING DIRECTIONS??? I GOTTA COOK IT MYSELF???

Ten minutes at 400 degrees.  Okay – that’s not too bad.   I baked the Alpine first.

Then I ate the whole thing.

Then I waited a few hours and baked the Cajun.

Then I ate the whole thing.

Then I passed out in a cheese-induced-coma and didn’t regain consciousness for four days.

Thankfully, just as I was coming around, Stacey called.  “Brett is in NYC.  You want mac&cheese?”

I’m all like, I’m not getting that again because I’m not supposed to be eating “zhe zennemehls” (per my Russian doctor) and I’m pretty sure cheese is a zennemehl.

Instead of that, I screamed, “OMG!  Tell him to bring me the Alpine. Make it two.  No, make it one.  No, make it two.  No, one.  Just one.”

Ten minutes at 400 degrees.

I only ate half of it.

waited ten minutes ….

Then I ate the rest.

Face, it.  I am a paragon of self-control.

So the moral of the story is this — Despite redneck sensibilities, this is the best damn macaroni I’ve ever eaten.  I don’t care if it’s got zennemehl or not, next time I’m getting three.  And sending Stacey some flowers.  Or a stripper.  From NYC.  (Then he can bring the S’MAC with him!)

Alpine:  A Swiss Mac that keeps you coming back for more.  Gruyere coupled with its partner in crime, slab bacon. Hard to resist!

From the s’mac website:

S’MAC was a concept born at the Peanut Butter Co. in New York’s Greenwich Village (what better venue for inspiration than another comfort food joint!). It was created by husband & wife team, Sarita & Caesar Ekya.

While sitting down and savoring their PB & J sandwiches, Sarita casually mentioned to Caesar “Wouldn’t it be great if there was a place that served PB & J, Grilled Cheese Sandwiches and…MAC-N-CHEESE?!?! Comfort food galore!” Both of them laughed (and salivated for some time) and went on their way. But the idea couldn’t be shaken — well that is, the part about the mac-n-cheese couldn’t be shaken. So they started on an adventure that would eventually lead them to the opening of their “baby” S’MAC 9 months later.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey Gelband permalink
    November 11, 2010 8:26 am

    Somehow “I told you so,” doesn’t quite say it. This should take me back down to 1 strike. Just wait till I bring you the cheesecake. NYC really does do it better.

    • November 11, 2010 9:00 am

      You are currently “strike free”! Each tub of macaroni is like a “Get Out of Strikes Free” card!!!

  2. luluandphoebe permalink
    November 11, 2010 8:56 am

    Ha, I’m drooling and I can’t even eat the stuff. I remember the Peanut Butter Co. before they were in the stores. Used to order directly from them – espc the white chocolate peanut butter…..if they are responsible for this mac and cheese, ohohohohoh. I’m a goner. But do they have any gluten free pasta????

    You should bring some to the Russian. He might leave you alone. And may I borrow your neighbor – she sounds like a keeper!

  3. Julie permalink
    November 11, 2010 9:29 am

    Okay. After the cheesecake, they need to bring you cannolis from Little Italy.

  4. November 11, 2010 10:48 am

    this is what you were eating when I called you yesterday and all I heard was ,” smack, smack, smack, oooh this is sooo good….” that’s why they called it s’mac because that’s all I heard when I was talking to you 🙂 kidding, but u did make it sound so yummy that I made my boring kraft mac and cheese last night, and ironically brought leftovers for lunch today. I don’t know, I really like my kraft mac and cheese. You know me, I hate to try things new.

  5. November 11, 2010 12:17 pm

    I always new you were an elitist.

  6. Lisa Kern permalink
    November 11, 2010 12:28 pm

    OMG! I need some of this! When’s your neighbor’s next trip?

  7. luluandphoebe permalink
    November 14, 2010 12:38 pm

    oh boy oh boy. road trip. I want I want I want!

  8. Vee permalink
    November 17, 2010 10:04 am

    OMG – now write a piece about a potato dish and I am your forever. Mac n Cheese for lunch…hmmm…maybe breakfast.

Leave a Reply

