Skip to content

Holy Crap! I’m going to PDub’s!!!

November 10, 2010

It’s true.  The Pioneer Woman, Jennifer Wilson, me … hanging out at the lodge, baking lots of stuff, sleeping in, looking at cows!!!  Looking at cows!  I know, right!  Baking stuff.  I’m not sure what this “sleeping in” thing is, but I am game for anything!

I know you are just about to die to know all the delicious details.  So here’s the story.

A little over a year ago, my pal Jennifer convinced me to start this blog over some pumpkin muffins with cream cheese filling.  A photo of Jen’s muffin wrapper (she’d already eaten most of the muffin) is my very first entry.

So then there was this mix up during Trick-or-Treat and somehow our husbands ended up adopting the puppy that would be known as BooBenDean Wilson.  I was convicted as an accessory to the adoption and became Boo’s official Godmother/babysitter.

For my love and dedication, Boo and her Wilsons gave me (drumroll, please) The Pioneer Woman Cooks as a little reward!  So while the guys were watching Auburn and Alabama battle it out, Jennifer and I were in the kitchen making Brie Stuffed Mushrooms!

This is Jen and me at the Annual Mother/Daughter Christmas Cookie Swap at my house last year.

I kept on blogging away and one day my little WordPress Stats seemed off by about ten thousand or so.  Still not knowing the ins and outs, I stumbled onto this!  {@@}

Next thing you know, it was spring.

Then there was that short stint as a goat wrestler at the petting zoo. (Contrary to photographic evidence, no tiny goats were harmed in the making of this picture.)

Of course,  Jennifer was coaching the kids’ soccer team.  She is much more dignified than I am.  And she has it easier – only four kids.  Please … four?  That’s a chip shot.

(It might be important to mention that she also substitutes at the elementary school about four days per week and runs the most darling business out of her own little sweat shop.  And it’s probably important to say that her four run circles around my five.  I have no idea how she does it all, but if I ever find out, I’m writing a book about it and making millions.)


At this point in history, I was tired of cleaning up all the dirty dishes from cooking, so I was getting into photography.  Very little clean-up required.

Actually, I was still cooking and growing stuff and taking pictures, but the only proof I have is the photography.  Sue me.

In between all of that we drove thousands of miles to dozens of soccer tournaments, scavenged every Michaels and Hobby Lobby in the four state area, hosted two of the most impromptu and successful birthday parties in the history of cake and ice cream, survived The Great Nick Saban  Debate, and managed to knock out a few posts every now and then.

Then …

I had to leave.

Gah!  That photo makes me weepy!

It’s been three long months, but thank the Good Lawd for technology!!!  Facebook, texting, cell phones, blogs, Skype, XBox 360, digital billboards, Amber Alert, The Official Lindsey Lohan ankle bracelet monitoring device … okay, maybe I’m exaggerating, but technology is the thing that saved me.

Sometimes I feel like I’m still just right up the street.  Like the other day when I got a text that said, “Go to PW and register for that baking weekend. If you win – take me.  If I win, I’ll take you.”  I thought to myself, “ummmm … do you even know how many of those things I’ve entered?”  But, I played along.  I was entry number thirty thousand and some-odd-hundred-or-other-number.  (Seriously – over 40,000 entries).

Being a realist (you get that free with your fifth child), I put it right out of my little mind.

So this weekend, I’m standing in line at the WalMart deli (that sounds like it should have a punch line, right?) and the Mr.’s phone rings.  He looks confused and hands me the phone.  First she asks, “Did you get that text I sent you last week?”

I say, “sure.”  I guess I did.

She says, “Did you enter?”

Then the lightbulb goes off and I think, “Hmmmmm … did I?”  I had to ponder it a bit while selecting from the gallery of chicken balls.  I did.  I clearly remember doing that and thinking … yhea … did I write that I want to know how to make Baklava?  What the heck is Baklava?  What if I don’t like it?  “Yhea – I entered.”

Then I hear something that sounds like a hysterical woman screaming, “I’m running naked in the Target and we’re going to see the Pioneer Woman!”  Maybe she didn’t say it exactly that way.  I can’t remember.

“Huh?”

“WE WON!  WE WON!  WE WON!”

So now I’m in WalMart screaming, “WE WON! WE WON! WE WON!”  at the chicken ball lady.  She was unimpressed, to say the least.  I don’t think it was personal –probably just a case of too-tight-hairnet.

So then I sent Jennifer 57,889 texts that said “I AM FREAKING OUT!!!!!!!!!”

 

And so, yhea, we’re like really cool about the whole thing now.  Totally chill.  We do stuff like this all the time.

 

Well, not really ….. DUDE!!!! I AM TOTALLY FREAKING OUT!!!!!

So December 3 – 5, we’re off to Oklahoma for some R&R with PDub and a few other winners.

I don’t know if you know this or not, but

DUDE!!!!!! I AM TOTALLY FREAKING OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 10:45 pm

    OMG I am freaking out too!!!! and I have tears in my eyes from laughing so hard!! Not sure if it was the Baklava, running naked in Target or the too tight hair net on the Chicken Ball lady.

  2. Walt Wilson permalink
    November 10, 2010 10:53 pm

    This is a great blog. I am laughing so hard!!!! You covered every possible angle of the stories. I sure miss having you and the crew in the Hood!

  3. November 11, 2010 12:05 am

    ooh that damn pic of your kitchen made me gasp. damn u. and damn the luck. u and jenn have a blast and i want some major details.

  4. Patty Amidon permalink
    November 11, 2010 3:32 am

    I am so happy for you and Jen! It will be so much fun just to be with each other again and the cooking and horses and all will be a wonderful experience! Your blog is sooo funny!
    Love, Jen’s Mom

  5. Julie permalink
    November 11, 2010 5:58 am

    I don’t know Jen, but I do know this: What those other winners don’t realize is that you two are the prize! You will bring as much to the weekend as you will take away. I’m expecting great photos (don’t forget the cows) and blog entries for months.

  6. November 11, 2010 8:22 am

    Just what you needed!!! And I’m with Evil D. – those other attendees have no idea what’s about to hit them. Once again, I’m asking you to take pity on the baking challenged and send me a care package from your retreat.

  7. Stacey Gelband permalink
    November 11, 2010 8:52 am

    Congratulations! Imma gonna miss ya…I’m just so thankful that you live in PA now. Enjoy your weekend. I wish I could say, “Bring home some great tips,” but we both know I want no parts of that domestic crap. I can buy it all in NYC!

  8. November 11, 2010 9:57 am

    So awesome!!! Yep, when I found out I had won I also freaked out. I happened to be all alone in my little office, and the guys in the factory in back probably didn’t hear me over the hum of the machines–so that’s good. =) I also made those brie-stuffed mushrooms, by the way . . . yum. Though I like her ‘regular’ recipe for stuffed mushrooms even better–sage breakfast sausage, cream cheese . . . oh! *dying*

  9. Rebecca permalink
    November 11, 2010 12:43 pm

    Okay, Is it because I am the only city gal here? Or am I just way out of touch, because I’m still not clear on what contest you won, and what is PDub? I do get the part however on you going away somewhere for a couple of days without kids and that you get to sleep in!

    • November 11, 2010 2:44 pm

      ok- Rebecca read my blog post and now knows who Pdub is etc. haha and that is my cousin BTW that lives in NY. Ann- maybe you both can go eat some mac and cheese together?

  10. Lisa Kern permalink
    November 11, 2010 1:18 pm

    Phew! I’m glad that Rebecca had the guts to ask WTF PDub is. Even if I am totally clueless about stuff the rest of the world seems to know, this blog was a riot. You seem super-happy, so I’m excited for you. Three days with no kids? And sleeping in? Jealousing over here, big time. Don’t forget the photos: good, bad, or incriminating.

  11. luluandphoebe permalink
    December 1, 2010 5:13 pm

    ::jealousing:: but then again I know you guys hate baking gluten free so feel totally free throwing all that flour around, but just know I will be taking notes and well, copying you guys and making it all (all I tell you!) gluten free! So there.

    Seriously, have a great time and bring extra mittens. It be winter there.

  12. December 5, 2010 4:34 pm

    It was so, so nice meeting you both!!! I LOVE this post! Pretty much sums up how excited I was to get my email, although, there was no running naked in Target. Maybe I’ll do that tomorrow. 🙂

    Hope you had a safe trip home and enjoyed that airport Sbarro!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Holy Crap! I’m going to PDub’s!!! « lemon tart diary -- Topsy.com
  2. Did you hear? I went on a trip … « lemon tart diary
  3. Bake at 350 … for forever! « lemon tart diary

Leave a Reply

