Skip to content

Damn, Ladies.

November 9, 2010

Andrew

Look familiar?

I know we are all seriously over Halloween, but while I was looking for a photo to use to describe my thoughts, this one just jumped out at me.

The Little Boys experienced pumpkin guts for the first time this year.  In the past we’ve painted them, used the Mr. Potato Head parts, stabbed them full of holes with an ice pick … that kind of stuff.  This year, they would not be placated with anything but the getting inside.

As they pulled and pulled and pulled the guts out, Andrew said something like,  “I didn’t even know there was all this stuff in here!”

Tonight I had a moment just like that!

I was updating the links on this blog because today my friend Melissa shared her new blog An Imperfect Heart and tonight my friend Julie shared her new website Reality Fishbowl.  I added them and then realized that I was missing a lot of links.

As I added the names and blogs and websites, I began to realize that I have surrounded myself with some of the most brilliant and creative women on the planet.  Where did they all come from?  “I didn’t even know all that stuff was in here!”

I guess it was one of those “if it’d been a snake” moments.  I’m still kind of gobsmacked by the reality of how blessed I am to know so many beautiful, talented women.

So many cliches, so little time:

“right there under my nose”

“stop and smell the roses”

“birds of a feather”

“if you can’t beat ’em,  join ’em”

“busy as a bee”

“all roads lead to Rome WordPress”

So all of that and finally this ~

Big Thanks to all my girls!  The ones who blog.  The ones who bitch.  The ones who bake.  The ones who shop.  The ones who lead me into temptation and the ones who deliver me from myself.  The ones who are attempting to read my first attempt at a novel.  The ones who text me dirty pictures and random curse words.  The ones who accept me regardless of my bad taste in music, film,  and books.  The ones who inspire me and motivate me and push me when I’m stuck in the ditch.  The ones who just seem to know when I need a little comfort.  All of you.  Every stinkin’ one.  I don’t know what I’d do without you.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 9:21 pm

    Glad your back on the blog wagon! We should do a countdown to Dec 3rd kind of like the countdown to Christmas!!! hahaha

  2. November 9, 2010 9:40 pm

    Aww… Annie. Now you brought tears to MY eyes. I love you, gorgeous woman. So lucky/fortunate/blessed to call you friend, and to read your words, and see the world through your lens. You amaze me.

  3. November 9, 2010 9:57 pm

    You know I love you, right?

  4. Melissa Moore permalink
    November 10, 2010 5:18 am

    Lots of love coming right back at you. When I need someone who will understand, you always pop up in the top of my list. xoxo

  5. Tara Harris permalink
    November 10, 2010 7:45 am

    I love you and miss you! Your words lift me up and make my heart smile. And Novel…….really? Sign me up for a read please!!

  6. November 10, 2010 8:09 am

    Since I know you actually love me best, it was very kind of you to write this as if you meant so many other women.

  7. November 10, 2010 8:12 am

    It probably wouldn’t be appropriate to kneecap Lorraine on such a lovely post, would it?

  8. Lisa Kern permalink
    November 10, 2010 8:34 am

    Do we get extra credit if we blog, bitch, and shop all at the same time?

    Love you back, Annie. XOXO

Leave a Reply

