Skip to content

Tastes Like Home

August 20, 2010

It’s true. Moving has rendered me addipted.

Ever since we got here, I’ve been craving home.  Specifically, the wonderful snack dips that I loved from the old neighborhood.  Each recipe is simple, delicious, and reminds me of  great times and beautiful friends.

The first thing I made when my mother-in-law got here to assist with the unpacking was Karen’s Pineapple and Red Pepper Dip.

Two 8 oz. packages of cream cheese (I use fat-free)
One small can of crushed pineapple (drained well)
One jar of Harry & David’s Red Pepper Relish

Soften the cream cheese and stir in the pineapple and relish and refrigerate.  Delicious on any kind of crackers.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Only a few days later, desperately missing  the Wilson family, I had to text Jennifer in the middle of her baseball game with the Boy Scouts to get the recipe for her Black Bean Salsa.

Strain.  Dump.  Chop.  Stir.  Aahhhhhh,

One can black beans
One can shoepeg corn
One can Rotel tomatoes and chilis
Chopped cilantro (I love lots)
One fourth cup Paul Newman Olive Oil & Vinegar Salad Dressing

The longer it sits in the fridge, the better it tastes.  Great on tortilla chips!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My favorite restaurant back home was a little place called The Red Onion.  I would have eaten there every day of the week, but I didn’t because I would have ordered the same thing time after time.  Smoked Chicken Dip, French Onion Soup, Blackened Tuna Sandwich with cilantro mayo and a side salad.  Never would I consider killing  my appetite for that meal.  ::sigh::

When I mentioned that I would miss The Red Onion more than I would miss one of my kids (were they accidentally left), Stephanie popped up and said, “Oh.  I’ve got the recipe for that Smoked Chicken Dip.”    ::thud::

Here it is.  Easier than I ever dreamed.

24 oz Cream Cheese (I use fat-free)
8 oz sour cream (fat-free)
16 oz chicken, chopped (canned chicken was suggested, but I broiled my own with olive oil, garlic, salt & pepper)
1 Tbsp Chili Powder
1 Tbsp Liquid Smoke (I used just short of a whole tablespoon out of fear)
Half a cup of chopped read onion
One finely minced jalapeño (seeded & deveined)

Using an electric mixer, whip up the cream cheese, sour cream, chili powder, & liquid smoke.  Stir in the onion and jalapeño.  Gently stir in the chopped chicken.

I recommend leaving this in the fridge overnight before serving.  It was ok at first, but the next day I felt like I was sitting in my favorite little restaurant.  Serve it with chopped Roma tomatoes, chopped onion, jalapeño slices.  The restaurant serves it with tortilla chips, but I always got them to sneak me a couple of slices of garlic toast to eat with mine.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So for now, I’m living on dip and a prayer, missing my pals, but feeling a little closer thanks to the taste of home.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 6:36 pm

    This is not helping my diet. Do you think I can dip paper chips in Karen’s dip?

    • August 20, 2010 7:02 pm

      I don’t think they would hold, but you could just eat it off the spoon and spare yourself the bother and calories of any delivery vehicle. Paper chips. WTF? Seriously.

  2. Tanya permalink
    August 20, 2010 6:53 pm

    So stinkin excited to see your recipe for Red Onion’s Chicken Dip…I too am addicted and have been known a time or two to order it and eat the whole thing myself…yum.yum. Miss you girl and glad to see you are back to cooking and blogging. Life must be somewhat calm with all those kiddos in school.

    • August 20, 2010 7:04 pm

      Tanya! It doesn’t seem possible, but I SWEAR – the next day – it tastes EXACTLY the same (or as close as you can get without being there!) The kids don’t go to school here until August 31, so I’m still just swinging with the apes. I gave up on unpacking and decided to just go back to cooking. Whatever. I’ve got a basement now. Out of sight, out of mind! hahaha! xoxoxox MISS YOU!

  3. August 20, 2010 9:11 pm

    It all looks so yummy!!! Glad y0u took pics of the bbs!!!

Leave a Reply

