Skip to content

This Is Why They Call It “The Heartland”

June 29, 2010

Today I visited the Webb City Farmer’s Market.  I went for the corn and blackberries.  I stayed for the acoustic guitar and the overwhelming feeling of love that came over me.

Tears welled up as I walked through the crowded pavilion thinking how blessed I am to live in this community and pretending to be overcome by allergies to the magnificent sunflowers tucked under my arm.   What can I say, I’ve never been good at leaving or saying goodbye, to people or places.

I complain about southwest Missouri all the time, about Roy Blunt and the short list of things to do, about lack of diversity and small town politics, but honestly … I love it here.  I love the people and the rural flavor and the warm feeling of home I get from being a tiny piece of it.

So I snapped a few photographs to save the time and place for myself — a bittersweet reminder of this place that I cherish.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bahar permalink
    June 29, 2010 3:59 pm

    waaaaahhhhh! you are going to miss us after all! Didn’t you just want to grab that big terra cot of basil for 12.00!!! I would have bought but I know coco would have it destroyed in 2 minutes!

  2. Melissa permalink
    June 29, 2010 6:13 pm

    Aw, I remember those kinds of tears/moments when we left NH. Love the photos of the old woman holding whatever it is – her arms are so long and fragile looking but they’re probably holding up a million calories of goodness.

  3. Lisa permalink
    June 29, 2010 7:59 pm

    Darlin’, I pinky swear promise to introduce you to some wonderful new farm markets. They won’t be the same as this one, but they just may make the homesickness easier to bear. XOXO

  4. July 1, 2010 7:43 pm

    Love it! Going to miss you bunches!!!!

  5. Liz permalink
    July 23, 2010 6:52 am

    Your photos of the farmer’s market are beautiful! They make me wish I was there, there’s nothing better then fresh produce.

    xoxo,
    Liz

  6. momromp permalink
    August 12, 2010 10:47 am

    Love, love, love this post. Makes me miss living in the midwest.

Leave a Reply

