Skip to content

I get excited easily.

January 2, 2010

The new year brought me new paint in my kitchen area.  I can’t think of a better way to start the year OR a better color, “Sweet Annie”.    Pardon the mess.  I’ll get to that later.  Right now I’m trying to think of ways to make “SWEET ANNIE” one of those replacements for cursing … like “fudge!” and “shut the back door!”  I hope it catches on.  I have always wanted to be part of an expletive (even a cleaned up one).

Of course, the boys thought the best part was this:

And if the wonderful new, shiny paint wasn’t enough, Mr. Fix-it showed up with this:

Ever heard of “Electric Switch Sealers”?  Yhea, me neither.  I admit, I was skeptical, but you won’t even believe how much frigid air pours in through that little space.

You just remove the faceplate, and apply the little foam barrier.  It already has the cut-out for the switch and the little screw holes.

You won’t believe it until you try it (I know), but I swear, it stopped every bit of air that was coming through and it was a lot!  Then you  just screw the faceplate back on.  How easy is that?

I dare you to try it.  What a totally easy way to cut back on drafts and energy loss.  I guess I need to go clean those dirty light switches now.  The work never ends around here!

In other, less relate news, while Mr. Fix it was fixing stuff today, I saw this in the stripped-down old willow out back:

I’m pretty sure he saw me too.  He’s got that “GET BACK TO WORK” look, doesn’t he?

One Comment leave one →
  1. momromp permalink
    January 3, 2010 3:46 pm

    This was a great post. And the kitchen color? So nice! Sage green (if that’s kind of what it is…that’s kind of what it looks like in the picture) is such a lovely color for any room. I plan to show these pictures to my husband ASAP so I can present concrete evidence…”See honey? We could also do this!”. (He’s not too big on the house painting thing after a past debacle with our daughter’s room in our old house. Yellow paint everywhere.)

Leave a Reply

