Skip to content

The Great Peanut Butter Cookie Swap-Off

December 31, 2009

I love peanut butter cookies.  I love the little  hash marks across the top, filled with sugar, that remind me of the cookies my ornery grandmother, Frances, used to make.  I love them crunchy and sometimes I love them with a bog plop of blackberry jam on top.  I really, really love that yesterday, I traded bags of these saucer-sized monsters for a couple dozen fresh farm eggs and a crock pot full of Taco Soup. 

Can you believe that?  It’s true.  Peanut butter cookies for soup and eggs or soup and eggs for peanut butter cookies … either way, it was a win-win-win for everybody!

Jennifer made the Taco Soup.  It’s loaded with ground beef, black beans, shoepeg corn, and chopped tomatoes.  It’s zesty and a tad spicy and makes the house smell like a taco heaven.  The kids LOVE it and I love it and even my soup-hating husband loves it.  It’s a winner, especially when you’re trapped in the back corner of southwest Missouri on a frigid December day.

Emily gathered the eggs yesterday.  Fresh eggs are magnificent.  The varied colors and the smooth shell are almost too pretty to break open.  However, I can’t often tell the difference in them when cooked, except in the color of the yolk and unless they are boiled.  Did you know that fresh eggs won’t stink  up your whole house when you boil them?  It’s true.  That alone may be the best reason to have fresh eggs.  My son can tell the difference instantly.  Every stinking time.

 

Back to the cookies –

These are so easy.  No extra steps.  No extra bowls.  Almost everything is in a quantity of 1 and 1/2 … that is very strange, I know. 

Let’s do this thing.  Your neighbor might be making soup … or gathering eggs.

Butter.  Oh wonderful, wonderful butter.

and peanut butter … my best friend during many a pregnancy ~

sugars, flour, eggs, vanilla, flour, baking soda, salt (makes this cookie) and honey roasted peanuts … oh my.

big, big, big … I used a regular sized ice cream scoop for these … not that wimpy little mini scooper

bake, bake, bake and voila!

serve with ice-cold milk – – –  makes about 18 monsters or about 3 dozen “regular” size cookies

Get the recipe HERE!  and then plan a swap with a few of your friends.  Win. Win. Win.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 11:07 pm

    Love the cookies!!! They were fabulous!!!! I will swap anyday!!!The cookies rock!!

    • January 1, 2010 10:38 am

      I am convinced that there should be a dinner rotation. You do the main dish, Tanya does the side, and I do the dessert. We meet, swap, and the clean up is minimal!!! The soup was wonderful – always is!!!

  2. momromp permalink
    January 1, 2010 9:55 am

    I love peanut butter cookies more than any other kind, and I have eaten a lot of cookies in my life. These look SO good. I also share your love of butter. (I am suspicious of people who don’t love butter as much as I do.)

    • January 1, 2010 10:40 am

      Peanut butter cookies are the best. Even though I like them crunchy, I am a big fan of McAllister’s Deli pbc’s. They are so soft, they almost taste like candy.

      🙂 And people who don’t love butter … are the lonliest people of all (did Babs say that?)

Trackbacks

  1. Twitted by TheLemonTart

Leave a Reply

