Skip to content

In the meadow we can build a snowman … out of cream cheese?

December 21, 2009

This is a cute seasonal variation on my cheesecake pops.  Little snowmen and Christmas trees all decked out in red and green.  None of the steps in the process are very difficult, but it does take a bit of time.

First you must make the cheesecake (no crust).   In a stand mixer, beat 32 ounces of cream cheese until soft.  Add 1 cup of sugar and beat for about a minute.  Add four eggs, one at a time (until well blended), 1 tablespoon vanilla extract, and 1/2 cup heavy cream.  Beat for about 30 seconds.  Pour into 9×13 baking pan and cook at 300ºF for 75 minutes.  Turn the oven off, crack the door, and let the cake sit for one hour.  Refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

When your cheesecake is fully chilled, scoop it out of the pan and into a large mixing bowl.  Beat the cheesecake until it forms a thick paste (about 2 minutes).

  

Fit a baking sheet with a piece of parchment paper.  Put cheesecake into a piping bag fitted with a large round tip.

Squeeze out one ball and pat the top to make a foundation for the next.  Squeeze another, smaller ball on top and then a smaller one on top of that.  Instant snowman.

   

With a star tip, you can make some Christmas trees to go with your snowmen.  Start with a large dollop on the bottom and continue wiggling the tip and pulling upwards to form the tree shape.

Place the cheesecake figures in the freezer for at least 30 minutes.

Melt 16 oz. white chocolate in a double boiler.  Sometimes I use the microwave, but you want the chocolate to be as thin as possible so it will form to the shapes.

Holding the snowman by the head, dip the bottom of each snowman into the white chocolate and place back on parchment paper.  After all the bottoms are done, go back and dip each head into the chocolate.  There will be a slightly noticeable line where the chocolate meets.  If you are super careful and dip right to the indentation between balls, the line is totally invisible!  Dip the trees in the same manner – base first, then the tops.  With the trees, use a pastry brush or the back of a spoon to get the chocolate into the grooves and to make little whisps.

Using red candy  melts, fit your snowman with a happy red scarf.  Start about 1/3 of the way down his chest and work back up towards the neck, around his back and back to the front, overlapping the ends.

 

When all of the chocolate has set up, it’s time to decorate.  A piping bag with a tiny bit snipped off the end can be used, or you can melt a little dark chocolate in a bowl and use a toothpick to dot on the eyes and mouth and make the hands.

For a quick hat, dab a bit of melted chocolate on the flat side of a chocolate chip and pop it on  his head!

These are so much fun to make and even more fun to share with those you love.

Happy, happy Christmas!

42 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 10:20 am

    What a lovely seasonal blog! Will have a go at these myself they look totally fab!

    If you want to have a go at some seasonal mince pies or yummy roasted root vegetables take a look at http://edinburghselfcatering.wordpress.com/

    Merry Christmas

  2. December 22, 2009 10:54 am

    Fattening, but cute! and tasty, I’m sure. Gloris
    http://www.gloriadelia.wordpress.com

  3. December 22, 2009 10:57 am

    Oh my YUM! Looks as though I’ll be doing a little experimenting with cream cheese tomorrow.

  4. December 22, 2009 11:13 am

    Charlotte & Pammy! You definitely should. Like I said, it takes some time, but it’s really not hard at all. I hope you both have a magical holiday season! 🙂

  5. December 22, 2009 11:14 am

    YUM is right! In my opionion, cream cheese makes the world a little brighter (okay maybe a little chubbier too- but SO WORTH IT)! What cute little cakes. And GREAT photography!

  6. December 22, 2009 11:18 am

    wow, snowman, it reminds me of Chess games, but it looks delicious and cute…

    what a creation! You have superior patience and awesome cooking skills.
    Merry Christmas!

  7. December 22, 2009 11:34 am

    Mmmmmm… cream cheeeeeese! Your Holiday scene is too cute!

  8. December 22, 2009 12:02 pm

    These are so cute. I don’t want to make them, I want to eat them!

  9. apocalypsecakes permalink
    December 22, 2009 12:34 pm

    Love it. Your snowman will go great with my Detroit Holiday Clearance Cake: http://apocalypsecakes.wordpress.com/2009/12/20/detroit-holiday-clearance-cake/

  10. December 22, 2009 1:21 pm

    So cute! I love them!

  11. December 22, 2009 2:02 pm

    These are adorable. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I have had such a hard time melting white chocolate lately. Hmmm, I’m going to have to make coal, or something that I can use regular chocolate on. Very cool. Yummy looking too.

  12. elissestuart permalink
    December 22, 2009 2:09 pm

    These are wonderful. You can compete with Martha Stewart.
    I will have to add to my blog.
    Merry Christmas!

    • December 25, 2009 10:32 pm

      Oh elisse – you dropped the “M” bomb! haha! Add me, I’d love it! You need to get me alink so I can check your blog out too!

  13. December 22, 2009 2:27 pm

    I just had to wipe my desk, I feel like a teething infant from the drool.

  14. December 22, 2009 2:42 pm

    That looks so cool! Wow…^.^

  15. December 22, 2009 2:48 pm

    i heart these little snowmen! I’m definitely going to give them a go, was feeling a bit blah about concocting the typical Christmas sugar cookies.

  16. December 22, 2009 3:47 pm

    That was really neat thanks for sharing

  17. chaitu permalink
    December 22, 2009 6:25 pm

    raid planet 1 completed

  18. December 22, 2009 7:08 pm

    Thank you for this Goodie Recipe!

  19. December 22, 2009 7:52 pm

    Okay…you have taken my love for Cheesecake to an entirely different level! I did not think that possible. Thank you sooo much for this recipe! The White Chocolate topping is decadent.

  20. December 22, 2009 7:59 pm

    merry christmas!there are so cute and sweet~~I love them~

  21. December 22, 2009 8:02 pm

    Fantastic! I can think of so many variations on this theme. Very original.

  22. December 22, 2009 9:47 pm

    woah…it looks so so appetizing 🙂 very nice

  23. Yuko permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:03 pm

    They are so0000 cute! Thank you for giving me inspiration for Christmas handmade sweets!

  24. December 22, 2009 11:37 pm

    These are absolutely adorable!! How did you come up with something like this? That’s just too cute.

  25. December 23, 2009 12:14 am

    So cute!! I love this idea.. I want to try it tomorrow!

    I’ve linked to this post on the blog I just started.. it was just too sweet to not repeat. 🙂
    http://j-peachy.blogspot.com

    Merry Christmas!

    • December 25, 2009 10:31 pm

      Thanks for the link, Rachel! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas! I’ll check out your blog. Good luck! 🙂

  26. December 23, 2009 2:47 am

    This looks very yummy but I will have a go at this. Thanks

  27. December 23, 2009 3:02 am

    At the risk of sounding like a teenage fangirl, OMG. I. Die. These are so friendly and adorable. I generally stay away from food characters (I’ve been known to sadistically bite gingerbread men’s limbs off one at a time, and swapping the heads of different colored gummy bears). But these are fantastic.

    They remind me of the cream cheese penguins I found on allrecipes.com once upon a time: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Cream-Cheese-Penguins/Detail.aspx

    • December 25, 2009 10:30 pm

      I checked out those penguins – ADORABLE! Thanks for sharing that link and thanks for your very kind words. I think the snowmen are adorable and the best part is that they are delicious as well!

  28. December 23, 2009 3:22 am

    Hey, found this band on restorm. Listen to it while baking!

  29. December 23, 2009 3:24 am

    Sorry, here!

  30. December 23, 2009 3:25 am

    WTF!! http://lallaby.restorm.com

  31. December 23, 2009 3:32 am

    Kewl! I wanna taste it! 😀

  32. December 23, 2009 6:25 am

    A new and creative way to prepare food for the holiday. Delicious-so!!!! Wanna invite everyone to check my blog at http://www.tatakblogong.wordpress.com

  33. December 24, 2009 8:22 am

    Wow! Look at all the comments! You are becoming a Rock Star at Baking!! Glad I am your friend and get to try all the wonderful things you make!! The perks of living down the street!!

    • December 25, 2009 10:28 pm

      I’m glad you are a willing “tester”~ What would I do without you??? Merry, merry Christmas. I think we celebrated the stuffing out of it, don’t you? haha~! xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. In the meadow we can build a snowman … out of cream cheese? « Paneful's Greasy Spoon
  2. In the meadow we can build a snowman … out of cream cheese … Lemon Me
  3. uberVU - social comments
  4. I wish I had the time to make these! « Sweetie Cakes & Pies

Leave a Reply

