Skip to content

COOKIE OVERLOAD: Share, Ship, & Shwap

December 9, 2009

Butter Cookie Snowflakes

I have a vague recollection of a dessert called “Cookie Overload”.  I think it was basically Oreo cookies smashed up in Cool Whip and dropped in a pie crust.  This is not a recipe for that particular dessert, though I think I just spilled the beans on that secret anyway. 

This is about MY cookie overload.  MY cookie over-whelm.  My cookie over-scheduling.  In case you hadn’t noticed, I’m no good with over-scheduling or being overwhelmed and overloaded.  But here it is, two weeks before Christmas and I’m flying at three G’s with my  hair on fire. 

I just really LOVE Christmas time.  And I REALLY love making cookies. 

Oreo Truffle

First there is the Cookie Swap.  I love the Cookie Swap concept.  My neighbor has been hosting a “girl’s night” kind of Cookie Swap for years, but last year, my daughter and I decided to do our own on this side of the street.  We invited a dozen or so of her friends and their mothers.   I KNOW RIGHT!  What kind of teenager party is that?  HA!  Well, it was so much fun last year, we decided to do it again this  year. 

                

I am also doing baked treats for our families back east this year.  We usually send a Harry & David gift tower, but not this year.  This year, everything came right out of my oven.  It took a while to get everything done and decorated and packaged and ready to ship, but we pulled it off.  It feels so good to have done all that baking and packaging for the people that I love the most.  The goodies are on the way and I am so excited to see their reaction to my treats instead of the usual impersonal variety.   (Yes, Nanny … there are lemon cookies … I wouldn’t do you wrong.) 

Lemon Wafers with Cream Filling

On top of all that, I was inspired by a friend who posted a story about baking cookies for the troops in Desert Storm when she was fifteen years old.  I said to myself  – hey self, you’ve already got all this stuff out … what’s ten or twelve more dozen.  I went to www.anysoldier.com, found me some folks from Missouri that are overseas right now and proceeded to bake them a bunch of cookies, too. 

           

So the Cookie Swap party, the idea that started this oven-condemning extreme baking extravaganza, is not until next week.  So, I almost have enough time to clean this mess up before I get started on those cookies (and snacks and prizes) for the party.  I haven’t decided what to bake yet – got any ideas? 

White Chocolate-Dipped Rice Krispy Treats

 

Did I mention that I LOVE CHRISTMAS?  And COOKIES? 

For the recipes shown, click HERE!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    December 9, 2009 5:45 pm

    you are a baking angel, Annie. really! when I grow up, I want to be one of your relatives getting one of those boxes of treats. what a wonderfully thoughtful gift – and for the soldiers too. cheers, my friend!

    • December 9, 2009 7:45 pm

      Thanks girl! I wish you were one of my relatives too! Why is it that we don’t get to pick??? haha!~
      Cheers back at ya!~ xoxo

  2. December 9, 2009 9:25 pm

    I am rethinking coming to the cookie swap night…my break and bake cookies from walmart look like dog treats compared to these…and I have no patience to make pretty ones like these…

    • December 10, 2009 2:20 pm

      Nice try, Har. You are totally NOT getting off the hook. Break it, bake it, and get your butt over here!!! If you weren’t so busy supplying the four states with fabulous purses, you would have more patience for cookie baking. hahahahahaha … ok, maybe not. But you’re coming anyway.

  3. apocalypsecakes permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:28 am

    These are fantastic. I’m more of a cake person myself, though. I mean, with all this talk of economic apocalypse and everything, I’d rather go in for cake than cookies. http://apocalypsecakes.wordpress.com

    • December 10, 2009 2:21 pm

      Yes – cake makes the world go round. I totally agree! Especially the kind with teeny tiny layers with super creamy filling in-between!

  4. Pretty Project] permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:31 am

    So yummy looking! 🙂

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  5. December 10, 2009 10:00 am

    so do good works to protect what must be taken. Superr.

  6. December 10, 2009 10:18 am

    Beautiful…like jewellery!

  7. December 10, 2009 10:58 am

    The snowflake cookies look amazing! & what a great idea (http://www.anysoldier.com/) !

    Thanks,
    JK

  8. December 10, 2009 11:26 am

    Amaaaazing cookies – they’re making me hungry! We love christmas cookies too. Merry Christmas from England!

  9. December 10, 2009 11:39 am

    OOOOOooooooooh (That’s like yuuuuuuuuum!)

  10. December 10, 2009 1:30 pm

    Everything looks so good. I have an aunt who does the whole epic cookie spree every year. We have a large family and there are cookies for every household. I commend you! 🙂 Have a great holiday.

  11. December 10, 2009 2:09 pm

    these photos are lovely and the cookies look delicious!

  12. December 10, 2009 2:23 pm

    Thanks everybody! This project was lots of fun and I am so happy with the results. Happy Holidays to all ~ sending each of you best wishes and lots of blessings for the coming year.
    ~ Annie

  13. your niece(: permalink
    December 10, 2009 2:58 pm

    these look amazing(:
    how hyper is your house lately with all the sweets?

  14. pandabox33 permalink
    December 10, 2009 4:39 pm

    Wow I want to be your cousin !
    Your cookies look amazing. I love Christmas and I love cookies too and I bake batches and batches every year. This year I also baked mini loaves.
    But I have never decorated my cookies like you do ! Wow.

  15. December 10, 2009 5:00 pm

    New here. Looks so good!!! seems so happy!!!

  16. softballgirl78 permalink
    December 10, 2009 7:00 pm

    Those cookies look very delicious. That is a great idea for a gift. Keep up the good baking!

  17. December 10, 2009 7:03 pm

    The cookies not only look beautiful they taste fantastic. I was lucky enough to have a one or two!! Can’t wait for the cookie swap!

  18. sourgrapes permalink
    December 11, 2009 1:12 am

    Yum!

  19. smiles permalink
    December 11, 2009 1:25 am

    Oh wonderful! The cookies looks amazing and delicious! Hrmmm, I want to try baking some…but I highly doubt they’ll turn out as delicious and beautiful as yours.

    And awww, what you do is so sweet! (:

  20. December 11, 2009 3:02 am

    wow . the cookies look so delicious :p yummy !

  21. December 11, 2009 3:25 am

    Wow those cookies are so lovely and delicious. it is so inviting. i liked it, will now make it having this idea in mind, thanks for sharing.

  22. sunshinelollipop permalink
    December 11, 2009 4:41 am

    Really nice blog. Great that you have created the presonally touch by doing it all yourself for your family and also for the soldiers! I am going to look at the recipes now. Thanks.
    http://sunshinelollipop.wordpress.com

  23. jaimiec permalink
    December 12, 2009 8:50 pm

    Baking machine!!! : ) Love it! I love cookies too.

  24. December 13, 2009 11:09 pm

    Wow I love your blog!!!
    I am 10 and I live in Thailand!
    Your blog make me so hungry and I love the pictures!
    I hope you visit my blog!

Trackbacks

  1. COOKIE OVERLOAD: Share, Ship, & Shwap « lemon tart diary Lemon Me
  2. Twitted by cocoapoco
  3. Cookie (post) Critique « Drafting the Digital Design Fellowship

Leave a Reply

