Skip to content

Miss Irma’s Buttermilk Pie

December 8, 2009

 My ornery grandmother, Frances, had a good friend named Irma.  They worked in a kitchen together for years and years and between the two of them they could make anything and everything … perfectly crisp peach dumplings that never split open even though there was way too much butter wrapped up in th pastry, perfect, four-inch yeast rolls, and pies – lots and lots of pies. 

Irma made my favorite of them all, the buttermilk pie.  Sounds gross and I can’t even believe I was willing to try it as a kid, but thank goodness I did.  That pie has always been a favorite of mine thanks to it’s tangy, zippy taste- a hint of buttermilk that is almost lemony in flavor.  The custard pie bakes up with a slightly crisp top and a thick, creamy center.

If you’re got your nose turned up, I’ve got to tell you that you don’t know what you’re missing.  This is the best.  So dang good, I think I’ll go make one right now.  I’ll be back with some pictures later!

3 eggs (or 4 eggs for less sweet version)

1 cup sugar

2 tablespoons flour, plus a little for dusting

1/2 cup melted butter

1 cup buttermilk (or 1 1/2 cups buttermilk for less sweet version)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 unbaked 9-inch pie shell

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Beat eggs slightly and add sugar and flour. Then add melted butter and mix well. Add buttermilk and vanilla and mix.

Dust the unbaked pie shell with a little bit of flour. Pour batter into shell, and then sprinkle a little more flour on top.

Bake at 325 degrees until the custard is set, approximately 1 hour.

Comments are closed.

