Skip to content

If You Are What You Eat, Then Why Don’t My Kids Like Nuts

November 29, 2009

Oh how I love chocolate chip cookies.

I love them thin and crisp.  I love them thick and chewy.  I love them with nuts … always with nuts.  

Unfortunately my lovely children did not inherit the pecan gene and now I suffer.  (I love the Mother in My Big Fat Greek Wedding and how she and the other women refer to inconveniences as “suffering” … very dramatic.)  Adding them in at the end, after scooping out 9/10 of the plain cookie dough, is effective enough … unless I FORGET!  And I did … I FORGOT TO ADD THE NUTS TO THE LAST LITTLE PATHETIC HANDFUL OF COOKIE DOUGH AND MY COOKIES HAD NO NUTS … AND I SUFFER.  (See ~ I do dramatic also.)

Oh well, no worries, I’m going to share the recipe with you anyway, with the nuts. 

  • Toast 1 cup of pecans and 1 cup of walnuts on a baking sheet for about 7 minutes at 350 (leave the oven on)
  • In the mixer, cream 1 cup of butter, 1 cup of brown sugar, and 1 cup of white sugar until fluffy
  • Add two eggs and a tablespoon of vanilla and beat for 1 minute
  • Add 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp salt
  • Add 3 cups of chocolate chips (I like 2 cups semi sweet and 1 cup dark – this also pleases the short people)
  • You might have to pulse the mixer a bit to get this going.  Keep working it until everything looks blended.

Using the small ice cream scooper, drop dough about 2 inches apart and bake for 10 to 12 minutes until the cookies are medium brown around the edges.  Don’t sweat the raw looking middle – it will come together while they are cooling on a rack.

I know that everyone has a recipe for chocolate chip cookies.  I just really, really like this one so I’m sharing it anyway just in case there is somebody out there who needs one or just wants to try something a little different.  What sets these apart is the crispness of the outer edge and the soft chewiness of the middle.  I mucho love them – even without the  nuts.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. throbbingheart permalink
    November 29, 2009 3:21 am

    I love this recipe! I need to try it soon, and I definitely feel your pain when there is an absence of nuts in your cookies. My younger brother is very allergic to them and my mom insists I bake without them sometimes so he gets a treat too. He’s missing out.

    • December 1, 2009 3:36 am

      throbbingheart! I think I might love the nuts more than the chocolate. haha!

  2. cathincolor permalink
    November 30, 2009 4:01 am

    I’m with the kids on this one. I hated when my grandma put nuts in her delicious chocolate chip cookies…or the banana bread! My mother knew that if she put nuts in her baked goods, her six kids would refuse to eat them. Hmmm…maybe that’s why she “forgot” sometimes and added the nuts. She didn’t want to “suffer” every time she baked. 🙂 Thanks for the yummy recipe.

    • December 1, 2009 3:38 am

      I don’t think I loved them as a kid either, but now I can’t get enough. And remember … they are HEALTHY! Let’s go with that! 🙂 Enjoy the recipe!

Leave a Reply

