Skip to content

Great Chocolate Pie from Good Christian Women

November 25, 2009

My husband and I have a strange history. While most of our friends have long tales of breaking up and making up, we don’t. In the beginning, we were friends … best friends for way more than a decade before we ever thought about getting married (to each other).

Since we avoided the entire “courtship” period, we missed a lot of the specific learning that takes place when people date for extended periods of time. I never really kept up with his personal specifics … like his dessert preference for example.

After we were married and living far from home, I decided that I would make his favorite dessert for his birthday (instead of traditional cake) since it would just be the two of us. I’m ashamed to admit that I had to ask him what that might be.

He replied that chocolate pie was his very favorite dessert.

I thought I had hit the jackpot. Even though I wasn’t a total novice in the kitchen, I had somewhat limited experience outside of “normal”, everyday types of dishes. Chocolate pie was a no-brainer though … I had helped my Momma make that a million times.

Anybody remember Dream Whip?

It was my understanding that Dream Whip was a primary ingredient in Chocolate Pie. Dream Whip and Jello Chocolate Pudding ~ make ‘em, mix ‘em and dump the fluffy, chocolaty, moussy mess into a graham cracker crust … TA DA!!! CHOCOLATE PIE!!!  Oh, what I would give to have a picture of that pie.

Not so fast.

He almost dropped dead. I thought the stunned look on his face was surprise … amazed wonder that I could make a pie almost 10 inches high … and it was a monster! It was his birthday after all.

“This is not chocolate pie”, he said.  To his credit, I will tell you that he did eat a slice before asking me politely to, “never make that again.”

Soon after that night, I received a cookbook in the mail ~ The Brookneal United Methodist Women’s Cookbook (1951) which included his great-grandmother’s prized recipe for real chocolate pie. I learned that chocolate pie is something to be fussed with … something that will melt the make-up right off your face, turn your straight hair curly, and quite possibly give you a third degree burn.

I’ve streamlined the recipe a bit since the first time I made it and it remains his favorite … his and everyone else’s. It’s no fail and don’t go scrutinizing the amount of chocolate … trust me … it’s enough!

For one pie:

1 crust – baked
2 Tbs Butter
2 oz. GOOD baking chocolate (semi-sweet). If you use Baker’s ~ use 3 oz
1/3 cup flour
1 cup sugar
¼ tsp salt
2 ½ cups milk
3 egg yolks (you can save the whites for meringue, if you want)
2 tsp vanilla

Melt the butter and chocolate in a large pan and set it aside.

Put everything else in the blender and zap it a few times until its foamy. The original recipe calls for adding each ingredient one at a time which involves trying to keep the flour from clumping and the eggs from curdling … it ain’t worth it … use the blender.

Put the butter/chocolate on the burner on low and stir, stir, stir … DO NOT let it burn (and it will before you know it).

Once it’s all melted, add the mixture from the blender. Turn the heat up to medium and whisk like a wild woman/man … seriously, this is your workout for the day.

When the mixture boils, set the timer for 5 minutes and keep whisking the heck out of it until the bell rings.

Pour into the crust and refrigerate for about 5 hours.

Almost two decades later ~ it’s still the fastest way to his heart … and the jewelry store!

No recipe is perfect or lasts forever and in the recent past, everyone in my family has become obsessed with single serving desserts.  Slices of pie are so passe.  To make the mini pie crusts you can make your own pate sucre for two pies or use the kind from the refrigerator section at the grocery. 

 

Roll out the dough and cut a circle about 6 inches in diameter.  Put the cut-outs on a lined baking sheet and stick in fridge to rest for about fifteen minutes.  Lay the circles over the back side of a jumbo muffin tin and press down to take on the shape.  Score the bottom twice with a fork and bake at the temp required of your pastry.  Allow to cool completely.  (makes 6 – three from each crust preparation)

The kids love the chocolate pie filling sandwiched between pizzelles and layered with whipped cream.

I don’t have a pizzelle maker 😦  so I just buy them at the store.  They are quite handy to have around and do just fine in the freezer.   (another favorite pizzelle filling – pasty cream and sliced bananas … YUM)

Any way you serve it, you’ll get lots of love in return. 

60 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2012 6:43 pm

    What do you want to do when you’ve finished? http://fucyrireibe.de.tl chicken little songs i want some big black cock in my hole like that, fuck me so hard. this video make me sooooooo wet!

  2. May 6, 2012 7:23 pm

    perfect design thanks http://jotonoirih.de.tl nn soft models I wish she would teach me a few things. Good god her pussy is hot. I wish her tongue could be on mine.

Leave a Reply

