Skip to content

Dorie Greenspan, You Goddess!

November 19, 2009

My family has been loving Dorie’s recipe for brioche that was printed in Bon Appetit last month.  The recipe is easy to follow and though time-consuming, leaves lots of time for dancing – be sure to have your iPod handy while preparing the dough. 

This morning, I got started on my prep a little later than I should have.  I also forgot to put the dough in the fridge after the first punching.  Let’s just say that I wasn’t playing my “A Game” today.  Here’s how it went down:

  • Kings of Leon and I prepared the dough perfectly and set aside to rise ~  Between mixings, I whipped 1/2 cup of butter with a tbsp heavy cream and 3 tbsp organic honey and popped it back into the fridge
  • 90 minutes later, worked dough, allowing it to fold over onto itself
  • OOPS ~ should have put into fridge – didn’t
  • 60-ish minutes later realized my mistake.  Worked dough, wrapped in plastic wrap, put in fridge
  • OOPS ~ forgot
  • 2 hours later (not 16 hours later) pulled dough from fridge

WHAT WAS I THINKING?

  • Cut dough into 12 pieces and placed each in muffin pan
  • 60 minutes later – into the oven …

If you think they look good from the outside, you should have seen the inside.  I would love to show you the angel-feather-perfection-cottoncandy-wonderfulness, but they were gone in a hot minute. 

I knew the recipe was great, but not great enough to withstand mistake after mistake and still turn out absolutely luscious bread.  

Dorie Greenspan ~ you are truly divine! 

Readers ~ if you aren’t making this, you are truly insane!

BRIOCHE BUBBLETOP RECIPE

Cookbooks by Dorie Greenspan

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 3:13 am

    Thank you so much. I am sooooooooooooo delighted that you are enjoying the recipe. I know it takes time, but I just think that making brioche is magical and I’m glad you obviously agree.

    • November 20, 2009 3:48 am

      Dorie ~ do you have any idea how many days of giddiness I get out of you commenting on my posts. Thnk you so much for taking the time ~ it really does mean the world! And YES, obviously I whole-heartedly agree!

  2. November 19, 2009 1:37 pm

    I snagged one of the last ones left and pulled it apart dipping it into the honey butter! Yum Yum Yum! I will have to make sure I am around when they are made again!

    • November 20, 2009 3:51 am

      It was more like dessert than part of dinner, wasn’t it? OMG – that bread and that butter …

Leave a Reply

