Skip to content

Jennifer, The Pioneer Woman, & Me

November 17, 2009

So the three of us were hanging out in my kitchen …

Well, not really, but close ~

I’d been itching to make these Brie Stuffed Mushrooms ever since I first saw the recipe at www.thepioneerwoman.com.  I mentioned it to Jennifer (who is the person who first pointed me towards PW’s blog a long time ago) about a week ago only to find out that she was dying to try them as well.   If you have never heard of TPW,  you are totally missing out.  Get thee to her blog/website right now! 

On Saturday night, we got our crews together while the Alabama football game was on and decided to put PW to the test.  Would they be as good as they looked?  Only one way to find out! 

We heated the mushrooms up in a little butter.

Then we stuffed them with creamy, magnificent brie and started the sauce.

Added a splash of wine to the garlic, green onions,  and parsley and then spooned a bit onto each mushroom.  We put a dent in that bottle of wine while they baked for fifteen minutes and the amazing, and I really mean AMAZING, smell filled the house.

The result was spectacular.  I admit I got a little nervous during the baking that the garlic and wine would add such strong flavor.  I was worried that my wonderful, mild brie was going to get lost at the party, but it DIDN”T.  Magically, the flavors blended together perfectly and the contrast of the firm mushroom and the creamy cheese was a great vehicle for the surprisingly light topping.  Can you say WINNER!!!

CLICK HERE FOR THE FULL RECIPE!

I’ll make these again and again.  And, I’ll be making lots of other wonderful PW recipes out of her new cookbook that I got as a special gift this week for my work as dog-sitter to Boobendean.  Thank you, Jennifer.  Best gift ever.  Roll Tide!

***coming as quick as a bunny ~ THE Cheesecake Recipe (complete with turtle topping directions)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 2:16 pm

    They were delish! It was fun making them too!

  2. Rachel permalink
    November 17, 2009 11:48 pm

    They look AMAZING! YUM!!

Trackbacks

  1. Holy Crap! I’m going to PDub’s!!! « lemon tart diary

Leave a Reply

