Skip to content

I aDORIE brioche!

November 3, 2009
bon appetit

Full recipe available at http://www.bonappetit.com

I love Dorie Greenspan’s blog and Tuesday’s with Dorie, so I was thoroughly excited to see her version of brioche in the October 2009 publication of “bon appétit”.  I couldn’t wait to make my favorite bread with one of my favorite foodies.

I was a little worried when I started because I have never used the mixer to make brioche, just good, old-fashioned elbow grease and the thought of running my mixer for half an hour really made me wonder if I was up to the task. 

I mixed until the “shaggy lumps” formed:

shaggy

I added the eggs and mixed some more:

Mix

I added my butter one tablespoon at a time … 12 times:

butter

I whipped it until it pulled away and climbed up the paddle:

dough pulls

It rose and I punched … I refrigerated and it rose … I punched and it rose some more and I punched some more until all was peaceful and sleepy inside the fridge.  When it was time to wake up, I punched and pinched and pinched and rolled until my muffin pan was full and then into the hot oven.

brioche clover

Oh. My. Goodness.  Never – never in all the years I have been trying to perfect my recipe have I tasted anything as delicate and light and perfect as these brioche bubbletops.  The smell was as intoxicating as the beautiful crusty rolls were delicious. 

There is no other recipe for me … EVER.  I am converted and dangerously happy and forever your student, Dorie Greenspan.  Thank you for sharing your recipes and your wit.  Today, I’m off to whip up a tart using this dough as the crust.

***  Word to the wise – make a least two preparations of this recipe.  If you don’t, once the first is complete, you will be completely disappointed that you need at least eighteen hours to enjoy it again.

~ Get Dorie’s cookbooks on Amazon.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 8:56 pm

    I am so, so very happy that you made the brioche and loved them. Isn’t there something almost magical about brioche? No matter how many times I make them, each time I’m as tickled as though it were my first.

    • November 3, 2009 9:45 pm

      Yes! Brioche is magical and I am equally tickled by the brioche and by your comment!!! I admire your perspective on food and your lovely writing so much. Thank you for taking the time ~ it means the world.

      ~Ann

  2. November 4, 2009 9:12 am

    Yum…First time I made brioche I was a little scared of all the eggs and butter and stuff (not that I can’t handle a lot of butter, but this was like…a LOT) but good grief the end result is worth it all. Yours looks gorgeous 😀

    • November 4, 2009 8:40 pm

      Laura ~
      It is a LOT!!! BUT ~ they were so perfect that they needed nothing on the inside. SO … this is my math: If there are twelve tablespoons on the inside and it makes twelve rolls, then that’s 1 tbs/roll. In the end, I probably put at least that much on a big ol’ roll like that anyway! But, even if it had twice as many calories, I would still be totally in love with that recipe. You have to try it!
      ~ Ann

Leave a Reply

