Skip to content

National Chocolate Cupcake Day?

October 19, 2009

chocolate cupcake

I have to admit, as much as I love to bake, decorate, and eat cupcakes, I had never heard of this worthy tribute.  As soon as I caught wind of it on Twitter (from CakeSpy), I launched into action.  First, I thought I better gather a little information.  A quick Google-ing led me to the TODAY show where Billy Reece, of Billy’s Bakery in NYC had shared this recipe for chocolate buttercream.

What good is a recipe for buttercream without cupcakes, thus the baking began. 

I only make one chocolate cake recipe.  It’s the same one my Mom used to make for my Dad and it’s perfect. 

*****

 oven to 350 degrees

In the mixer bowl:  2 cups of flour, 2 cups of sugar, 1/2 cup of cocoa

In a (microwave safe for melting butter) bowl:  1 stick of melted butter, 1 cup of water, 1/2 cup of vegetable oil

In (liquid) measuring cup: 1/2 cup buttermilk

Also need:  2 eggs, 2 tsp baking soda, 2 tsp vanilla, dash of salt

 

Pour butter/oil/water mixture into mixing bowl of dry ingredients.  Blend until just mixed.  Add eggs one at a time.  Scrape sides of bowl.  Add buttermilk and mix on low.  Add baking soda, salt, and vanilla at once.  Mix on slow until blended (about a minute).

Fill cupcake liners about 2/3 full and bake for around 25 minutes.

*****

My Mom used to bake this in a 9×13 and top with chocolate frosting and walnuts.  With 5 kids in the house and a bevy of amazing friends and neighbors, I prefer to prepare the recipe as cupcakes for share-ability. 

Here’s to my new favorite national holiday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2009 8:18 pm

    These look *MIGHTY* tasty. I will be making them soon. Like… now.

    • October 20, 2009 3:39 am

      Like now! That’s my favorite time to do everything!
      Thanks Jodi 🙂

  2. October 20, 2009 7:29 pm

    I won’t attempt to make these because I’m a lousy baker…but I love your website..your great writing is well worth it and I will pass the recipes on to my friends and daughters who aren’t so culinary challenged as I…

Leave a Reply

